Making a Difference on Giving Tuesday

#GivingTuesday is a movement started up to promote charitable donations following the excess shopping we indulge in over the course of Black Friday and Cyber Monday. Last Thursday we all gave thanks for what we have in our life. My own Thanksgiving this year was less traditional than usual but still gave me the opportunity to reflect on what I am thankful for.

As the only American sitting at a table with new friends from Switzerland, Germany, Iran and Austria last Thursday, they were all eager to know what I was thankful for. Although I was not able to be with my family at home in the United States eating turkey, mashed potatoes, cranberry sauce and my grandma’s famous cavatelli, I knew I had a lot to be grateful for.

Join us today on Giving Tuesday and support the women that I am lucky to meet on a regular basis across eight Honduran departments: Atlántida, Islas de la Bahía, Cortés, Colón, Yoro, La Paz, Intibucá and Choluteca. Donate here and leave your comments below to tell us what you’re thankful for.

This entry was posted in From the Office and tagged , , , , , , , , , by Gina C. Bookmark the permalink.

About Gina C

My interest in Latin America first brought me to Guayaquil, Ecuador for a short term summer program. One year later, I returned for a full semester. I graduated from SUNY New Paltz in New Paltz, NY in May 2012 with a BA degree in International Relations, having also minored in Spanish. My internship experiences while abroad allowed me to gain knowledge regarding the social issues faced by Latin Americans, while other volunteer positions including an ongoing Spanish translation position with Kiva have allowed me to put my Spanish skills to use. My involvement with Kiva as both a lender and translator inspired me to pursue and accept my current position as the International Development Coordinator for Adelante Foundation in Honduras.

Leave a Reply

